Keynote speakers


Dr. Ganesh S. Palapattu

Ganesh S. Palapattu, MD, FACS is Chief of the Division of Urologic Oncology and the George F. and Sandy G. Valassis Professor of Urology in the Department of Urology at the University of Michigan. Dr. Palapattu’s clinical interest is in the evaluation and management of men with high risk prostate cancer. As a surgeon-scientist, he currently maintains a prostate cancer translational lab in addition to his clinical duties. Dr. Palapattu graduated from Baylor College of Medicine and completed his surgical internship, urologic training and chief residency in urology at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. Following this, Dr. Palapattu completed a 2 year laboratory research fellowship in Urologic Oncology at the Johns Hopkins Hospital/Brady Urological Institute. The University of Michigan Division of Urologic Oncology, among the largest of its kind in the United States, is a national leader in urological cancer clinical care, research productivity and advanced medical education.

Professor Moustapha Kassem


Professor Jørn Herrstedt

Professor Chris Chapple

Christopher Chapple is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals, Honorary Professor at University of Sheffield and Visiting Professor at Sheffield Hallam University.  He has a particular interest in functional reconstruction of the lower urinary tract and the underlying pharmacological control mechanisms, and provides a tertiary service in lower urinary tract reconstructive surgery.  He trained at the Middlesex Hospital where he completed his doctorate thesis. He continued there and the Institute of Urology in London for his sub-specialist training.  He is Secretary General of the European Association of Urology, having previously been Chairman of the International Relations Committee, Adjunct Secretary General Responsible for Education, and Director of the European School of Urology.  He was editor-in-chief of the journal Neurourology and Urodynamics from 2006-2016 and is on the editorial board of several international journals.  He is an active member of many urological associations and societies including the British Association of Urological Surgeons, the European Association of Urology, the International Continence Society, the Association of Academic European Urologists and the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons.  He has chaired a number of guidelines initiatives including the NICE Guidelines Development Group on male LUTS and was co-chairman of the ICUD consultation on male LUTS.  BAUS awarded him the St Peter’s medal 2011 and SUFU awarded him the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2015.  Prof. Chapple has co-authored 700+ articles, comments and letters in peer-reviewed journals and has written several chapters and books.

Chief Medical Officer & Director Maher Albitar, MD

Dr. Maher Albitar is Senior Vice president, Chief Medical Officer and Director of Research and Development at NeoGenomics Laboratories.  Dr. Albitar is a pathologist with subspecialty in hematology and molecular genetics.  His career started at MD Anderson Cancer Center and the University of Texas, where he was a tenured full professor and Director of the molecular Laboratory and Leukemia Section.  He also served as a Director of Hematopathology fellowship program.  In 2003 he joined Quest Diagnostics, Nichols Institute as the Medical Director of Hematology and Oncology.  In 2012, he joined NeoGenomics Laboratory. Dr. Albitar was trained in Anatomic and Clinical Pathology at Brown University in Rhode Island, Hematopathology at the University of Pennsylvania, and Genetics at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.  Dr. Albitar has published more than 290 peer reviewed articles and multiple chapters and edited multiple books.  His work is focused on molecular characterization of cancer, particularly translational and diagnostic molecular genetic testing.  He is the inventor on more than 20 patents/patent applications.

Professor Paul Abrams

Paul Abrams is Professor of Urology at the University of Bristol, and Head of Teaching and Research at the Bristol Urological Institute at Southmead Hospital. In addition, he is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at North Bristol NHS Trust. He has also been Chair of the International Consultation on Urological Diseases since 2008. Professor Abrams is considered one of the world’s leading experts in the field of lower urinary tract dysfunction. 

Professor Abrams is particularly interested in benign prostate disease, female and functional urology, neurourology and urodynamics. He has published almost 400 peer-reviewed journal articles, numerous chapters in more than 30 academic books, and more than 100 invited articles. Professor Abrams has edited more than 20 books, and the third edition of his book, Urodynamics, was published in 2005. Most recently he has written a book on leadership with Dave Thornton, “Lead by VIP”.

He is responsible for the introduction of the term ‘lower urinary tract symptoms (LUTS)’, and with Alan Wein, the term ‘overactive bladder (OAB)’.  

Professor Abrams’ expertise is widely sought; he has lectured and presented at all major international urological meetings, and in over 40 countries. Over the years, he has trained a number of urologists, both nationally and internationally, who have gone on to become consultant urological surgeons with an interest in functional urology.

Professor Peter E. Clark

Doctor Clark completed his urologic residency at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation and subsequently did his urologic oncology fellowship training at the University of Southern California. Until very recently he was Professor of Urologic Surgery at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville TN, where he was also the Residency Program Director. He currently is the Chairman of the Department of Urology at Carolinas Medical Center in Charlotte NC. Dr. Clark has an active clinical practice focused primarily on bladder and kidney cancer as well as an active research program studying the biology of kidney and bladder oncogenesis. He was until very recently Chair of the bladder/Penile cancer guidelines panel for the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) and is a member of non-muscle invasive bladder cancer and small renal mass guidelines panels for the American Urologic Association (AUA). He is serving as the representative for the Southeast Section of the AUA to the AUA Foundation Research Council, the Judicial and Ethics Committee, and is the Chair of the AUA Practice Guidelines Committee. He is on the editorial boards for the Journal of Urology, BJUI, Urologic Oncology, and UROLOGY. He serves on the Examination Committee for the American Board of Urology. He is also an active member of the Society of Urologic Oncology, the Society of Academic Urologists, and the Society of Basic Urologic Research. He has over 170 publications in both the clinical and basic sciences.

Professor James N'Dow

Helle Ploug Hansen

Helle Ploug Hansen is professor in Humanistic Rehabilitation Research, Department of Public Health, Research Unit of General Practice, University of Southern Denmark. She holds a PhD and an MA (extended) in Anthropology, University of Copenhagen as well as being a RN.

She is visiting professor in nursing at Sunnaes Sykehus, Oslo, Norway. She has done several ethnographic fieldworks in Denmark mostly in relation to people who have or have had a cancer disease. She is the author of several books for nurses and other health care professionals and a substantial number of articles in peer-reviewed journals.